Scott Brown: AICOA Summer Sequel Already Tanking At The Box Office

Praises Bipartisan Group of Lawmakers For Dropping Previous Support

WASHINGTON – In response to yesterday’s re-introduction of the American Innovation and Choice Online Act (S.2033), Competitiveness Coalition Chair Scott Brown highlighted the dwindling number of cosponsors from the previous iteration of the bill:

“The summer sequel of this misguided legislation is already on track to be another box office failure. The antitrust forces couldn’t muscle this bill over the finish line when they had full control of Congress, and it stands even less of a chance today. It’s especially disappointing to see lawmakers who hold themselves out as conservatives teaming up with the likes of Senators Amy Klobuchar, Dick Durbin and Richard Blumenthal to punish American innovators and boost foreign tech companies. We’ve seen this movie before, and rest assured we will do everything in our power to ensure the same ending: absolute failure.”

During the 117th Congress, AICOA had support from at least five more co-sponsors. According to initial reports, at least five lawmakers have dropped from the latest version of the bill, a bipartisan coalition including:

  • U.S. Senator John Kennedy (R-LA)
  • U.S. Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
  • U.S. Senator Steve Daines (R-MT)
  • U.S. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
  • U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

“The bipartisan group of lawmakers who dropped their previous support of this bill deserve credit. It’s never too late to do the right thing, and that’s a lesson we will be imparting to its remaining supporters,” concluded Brown.

Launched in April 2022, the Competitiveness Coalition is a first-of-its-kind group educating the public and advocating for policies that put consumers first while fostering innovation and attracting new investment. For more information, please visit Members of the press can contact the coalition at